Travel Corridors: Removals

Dear Colleagues,

I provided an update to the House yesterday on the introduction of a more targeted approach to travel corridors through a new Islands’ policy.

I am now writing to inform you that the Government has today made the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No.12) Regulations (“the amending Regulations”) to remove the Greek islands of Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos from the list of exempt countries.

Data from the Joint Biosecurity Centre and Public Health England has indicated a significant risk to UK public health from travellers returning to the UK from the Greek islands listed above. They have therefore been removed from the list of exempt countries and territories.

The removals of these Greek islands, which will come into effect from 04:00 on Wednesday 09 September, will apply only to England.

Passengers arriving in England from Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos from 04:00 on 9 September will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

Further information on the exempt countries and territories can be found here:

Covid-19 has profoundly changed the nature of international travel. As ever, travellers should carefully check the latest Foreign and Commonwealth Office travel advice before making plans and commencing their journeys, and should purchase travel insurance. This can be found here:

I will announce any further necessary additions or removals on Thursday, as per the usual weekly process.

Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP, Secretary of State for Transport